President's Council for Inclusion, Transformative Social Justice & Advocacy


The University of Northern Iowa is committed to creating an institution that recognizes and values every individual for the diversity they bring to our campus community. We understand the intrinsic value of diversity to our university, the Cedar Valley, our state, nation and the world. The rich differences that students, employees and visitors bring to the University of Northern Iowa through their individual lived experiences enables UNI to deliver on its promise to help each member of our university reach their educational, professional and personal goals. This 14-member, standing advisory committee to the president and university leaders will provide broad recommendations on strategies, practices and institutional policies to achieve systemic change for a truly diverse, equitable and inclusive campus community.

Final Charge: President's Council for Inclusion, Transformative Social Justice & Advocacy (CatID required)

Committee Action Items (CatID required)

2021 Annual Report (CatID required)

Current Membership

It is essential that the Inclusion, Transformative Social Justice & Advocacy Advisory Committee represents diversity broadly across the university. The faculty, P&S Council, AFSCME, Supervisory & Confidential Council, NISG and administration will each appoint representatives from their areas, and the university president will appointment the chair. The chief diversity officer will serve an advisory role and provide support on an ad hoc basis.

Overview of Council Composition

Membership GroupRepresentatives
Committee ChairDoug Mupasiri - Department Head & Professor, Mathematics
University Administration RepresentativeDoug Mupasiri - Department Head & Professor, Mathematics
Faculty RepresentativesCara Burnidge - Philosophy & World Religions (PDA Spring 2023)
 Belinda Creighton-Smith - Social Work
 Gabriela Olivares - Languages & Literatures
Professional & Scientific Staff RepresentativesNickole Dillard - UNI Center For Urban Education
Student RepresentativesChristian Johnson - NISG Director of Diversity
Community RepresentativeHenry Bevel - Attorney, Swisher & Cohrt
Ex-OfficioGwenne Berry - Asst to President & Chief Diversity Officer
 Chiquita Loveless - Director, Diversity, Inclusion & Social Justice