Disability Advisory and Advocacy Committee


The Disability Advisory and Advocacy Committee is a university committee responsible for advising the President's Executive Management Team on matters related to campus accessibility and the provision of disability services to students, faculty and staff and, more specifically, advising the departments of Student Disability Services and Human Resource Services on disability-related matters.  Further, the Committee advocates for students, staff and faculty with disabilities; raises awareness of disability as a civil rights and diversity issue; and promotes collaboration between relevant service providers on campus.


The Committee members represent student programs, colleges, and units directly involved in addressing disability issues.  The individuals responsible for provision of disability services to students and employees are appointed ex officio (non-voting).  The campus-based representative of Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services is appointed ex officio (non-voting).  The committee reports to the President through the Vice President for Student Affairs and appointments are made by the President, based on the recommendations provided by units as described below.  Members serve until they are replaced. The committee chair is appointed by the President.

Preference in making appointments will be given to faculty and staff who have particular research interest or content knowledge about matters pertaining to individuals with disabilities.


The Committee meets monthly and at the call of the co-chairs.


Contact the Disability Advisory and Advocacy Committee (DAAC)

Learn how to make electronic documents  accessible, including Microsoft Word and PowerPoint, PDF, Drupal and web video.

Committee Membership

MemberMember/representativeAppointee recommended by

Kelly Fiddelke


Dean of Students

Melissa Ward


VP for Student Affairs

Jose Luis San MiguelFinance and Operations/Facilities PlanningVP, Finance and Operations

Mike Zwanziger

Finance and Operations/Physical Plant

VP, Finance and Operations

Helen Haire

Finance and Operations/Safety 

VP, Finance and Operations 

Lisa Thomas

Compliance and Equity Management

Asst to Pres, Comp & Equity Management

Jennifer Garrett

Faculty, College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences

Dean, CHAS

Robert MartinFaculty, College of Social & Behavioral SciencesDean, CSBS

Melinda Beland

Faculty, Rod Library

Dean, Rod Library

Carolyn Dorr

Information Technology/Client Services

Ex officio

Jason Vetter

Information Technology/Educational Technology & Media Services

Chief Information Officer

Jean Wiesley

Student Affairs/Residence

VP, Student Affairs

Debby Ferguson

Student Affairs/Health

VP, Student Affairs

Yakira Sanders

Student-Director of Diversity, NISG 


Alex CarlsonStudent-NISGNISG

Beth Harris

Faculty, College of Education

Dean, COE

Paul KaufmannUniversity RelationsDirector, UR

Jody Gibson

Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor

Ex officio